Sports Athletics: The appointment of Maurice Greene is a joke - Enefiok Udo-Obong

Greene.jpg
Former Nigeria athlete Eniefok Udo-Obong has once again criticised the appointment of American Maurice Green as a coach for the Athletics Federation of Nigeria(AFN)

Udobong a gold medallist for Nigeria at the Sydney 2000 Olympics,said that Greene has nothing new to offer the Athletics Federation.

"Hiring) Maurice Greene is a joke. I have said it before and I will continue to say it. He brings nothing new to our team in terms of technical improvements. He is just a waste of money. If he was brought as motivation and for his past as a champion, maybe that is ok, but as a coach, I beg to differ. We have many experienced coaches at home who have trained champions; give them half of what you are giving Greene and see them perform," Udobong told The Punch.

Udobong however,disputed claims that he is against the poaching of the foreign-born Nigerians to represent the country.

"Let me correct you there and make my point VERY CLEAR. I am NOT against getting Nigerian-born athletes from the UK and USA. They are Nigerians and have every right to compete for Nigeria, especially when they have multiple citizenship. I am against BUYING athletes with NO roots to Nigeria. Bringing them to compete and denying our citizens the right to compete for a country they love so much.