World EgyptAir MS804: More Details About Missing Flight

#1
egypt air.jpg

As Europe wakes to news of the missing flight, here is what we know at this point, four hours after the plane lost contact:
  • Flight MS804, en route from Paris Charles de Gaulle to Cairo, has disappeared from radar.
  • The plane, an Airbus A320, left Paris at 11.09pm on Wednesday night (21.09 GMT/22.09 BST/07.09am Thursday AEST).
  • The airline said contact was lost around 16km/10 miles inside Egyptian airspace at 2.45am local time (00.45 GMT/01.45 BST/10.45 AEST).
  • The plane was carrying 56 passengers and 10 crew: two cockpit crew, five cabin crew and three security personnel. The airline said two babies and one child were on board.
  • Search and rescue efforts are underway at the site where contact was lost, around 50-65km (30-40 miles) north of Egypt’s coast.
  • The plane, on its fifth journey of the day, was travelling at 37,000 feet when it disappeared from radar.
  • EgyptAir says the captain has 6,275 flying hours, including 2,101 on the A320; the copilot has 2,766. The plane was manufactured in 2003.
  • Associated Press reports thatIhab Raslan, a spokesman for the Egyptian civil aviation agency, told SkyNews Arabia that the Airbus A320 most likely crashed into the sea.
· Reuters cites a French airport official saying of flight MS804:

It did not land, that is all we can say for the moment.’
 

Attachments

[1843]
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.
Top