Sports Jonathan Igbinovia Laments Poor State Of Nigerian Tennis

Former Nigerian number one tennis player, Jonathan Igbinovia, pours his heart out on the declining state of Nigerian tennis, how he was abandoned by stakeholders in the industry, and despite all that, how he managed to get to the top while playing active tennis. He spoke to Tomiwa Babalola in this interview on his dreams for Tennis in Nigeria.
Can we meet you?
jonathan igbinovia.jpg

"Well I am jonathan Igbinovia, former Nigeria's Tennis player, for many years right now, I'm also a tennis pro, and when I say pro that means I have my own tennis academy over there in Atlanta, so right now I'm into player development."

How long have u been into player development?

Ever since I quit professional tennis and then I started with working with the USTA, developing players in the south in Atlanta, and after then I started my own academy and everything is running successfully.

What's the name of the academy? "It's called country club de-south."

What's the capacity of the academy as we speak?
At the moment, we have about 80 kids and they range from age 9-17, and six of my students got scholarships into college at the age of 17 last fall, and they are the oldest of all of our students at the academy.

Do you have Nigerians in your academy? "No"

Why?