Politics Nigeria: Why the Sports Minister was Sacked


The removal of the Minister of Sports, Bolaji Abdullahi, from office yesterday has been traced to his failure to openly associate with the political interests of the President in Kwara State.

Abdullahi, a former commissioner in Kwara State under the regime of former Governor Bukola Saraki may also have been dropped for his failure to openly disavow Saraki’s leadership of the state.

Meanwhile, President Goodluck Jonathan, yesterday, swore in 11 ministers and assigned them portfolios.

Source: The Vanguard newspaper.

Below is a list of the new ministers:
Sen. Musiliu Obanikoro (Lagos), Minister of State Defence; Alhaji Mohammed Wakil (Borno), Minister of State Power; Alhaji Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Minister of Police Affairs and Alhaji Aminu Wali (Kano), Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Others are Mrs Akon Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom), Minister of Land, Housing and Urban Development; Mrs Lawrencia Laraba Mallam (Kaduna) Minister of Environment; Dr. Tamuno Danagogo (Rivers), Minister of Sports and Hajia Asabe Asmau Ahmed (Niger), Minister of State Agriculture.

Gen. Aliyu Gusau (Zamfara), Minister of Defence; Boni Haruna (Adamawa), Minister of Youth Development and Dr. Khaliru Alhassan (Sokoto), Minister of State, Health.
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.