Tuke Morgan: How Lifestyle Blogging Shapes A Young Female Saxophonist

P

PressRoom

Adetuke Morgan had an enjoyable childhood – from reading books in her dad's store at an early age to mingling around 44 siblings of her paternal grandma, and acting plays and choreography in church. Tuke Morgan, as she is popularly called is a Saxophonist. She first laid hands on the Saxophone in March 2009 while in her First Year of A Levels at Woldingham School, Surrey. Tuke, also a photographer, on her lifestyle blog, Tuke's Quest documents adventures and experiences in life on her journey of discovery. In this interview, Tuke talks about her art as a Saxophonist, a lifestyle blogger and photographer.

Tuke Morgan 1.jpg
When did you start playing Saxophone, and what or who were your early passions or influences?

I started playing the Sax in 2009, the first time I blew into a Sax was February 29th of that year. I didn’t want to learn the Sax, I actually wanted to learn the Guitar but my Dad suggested the Sax. I had 2 trial lessons in both instruments and the Sax was my preferred option. I was privileged to go to England in September 2008 for my A-Levels and was shocked and impressed by the wide range of extra-curricular activities available at my school. I decided to fully take advantage of the opportunities that were available at that school and immersed myself in a variety of activities. By the end of the first term I decided I want to learn a Musical Instrument. It was the culture of the school and achievements of my fellow students that ignited a desire to learn a Musical Instrument. My early influences were Pastor Kunle Ajayi, Uncle Sammy, the Saxophonist at my church, Zoe Belbin, my music teacher at school and the other students who played the Sax in the school Jazz Band, Diana Ho & Jane Ho.

What are currently your main artistic challenges?