• FOR SALE: One bedroom executive flat, Lagos, Nigeria | Get details]

Politics INEC Releases Time Table for Adamawa Bye-election,Creates 30,000 More Polling Units Nationwide



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has created an additional 30,000 Polling Units (Pus) nationwide and fixed the Adamawa Governorship bye-election for Oct. 11.

The commission stated in its daily bulletin issued in Abuja on Tuesday that the creation would bring the number of polling units to 150,000, adding that the creation was meant to decongest existing polling units across the country.

The commission has released the timetable of activities for the governorship bye-election for Adamawa state scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 11.

The commission said the election was the consequence of the impeachment and termination of the tenure of Malam Murtala Nyako as governor of the on July 15.

The schedule of activities shows that the last day for submission of Forms CF002, CF001 and nomination forms at the INEC headquarters is Sept. 17.

It also states that Sept. 29 will be the last day for Publication of Personal Particulars of Candidates (CF001) and Oct. 9 the last day for electioneering.

The Director of the Commission’s Secretariat, Mr Ishiaku Gali, said the decision to create the units was taken at a meeting on Aug. 12.

``A look at the approved re-allocation of 150,000 PUs nation-wide shows that Lagos is leading in terms of proportional distribution based on 150,000, namely: 11,565 and approved new PU allocation per state, namely: 11,023.

``It is followed closely by Kano State which has 10,127 PUs based on proportional distribution of 150,000 and 9,809 based on approved new PUs allocation per state respectively,’’ the commission stated.

The statistics of additional pulling units is as follows: Abia (3,019), Adamawa (; 3,498), Akwa Ibom (3,476), Anambra (4,729), Bauchi (5,185 ) and Bayelsa (1,925).

Others are Benue (4,832), Borno ( 5,269), Cross River (2,569), Delta (4,321), Ebonyi (2,212), Edo (3,352), Ekiti (2,316), Enugu ( 3,079), Gombe (2,621) and Imo (3, 677).

Also approved are Jigawa, 3,920; Kaduna, 7,485, Katsina, 6,075, Kebbi, 3079, Kogi, 2,853, Kwara, 2,406, Nassarawa, 2,605 and Niger 4,868.

Ogun has 3,818 more units, Ondo, 3,231, Osun, 3,131, Oyo, 5,311; Plateau, 4,173; Rivers, 5,204; Sokoto, 4,311; Taraba, 2,673; Yobe, 2,504; Zamfara 3,679 and FCT, 1,762.

#INEC #Adamawa


  • inec.jpg
    4.7 KB · Views: 4
Last edited: